Bird’s Eye News

Up here, we see everything – Gabriel Pollard

Book review: On Writing by Stephen King

with one comment

Shortly following Stephen King’s infamous collision with a car in 1999, he started writing a book. Part autobiography and part tips on good writing, King retells the story of his childhood and his early writing exploits as well as grammar tips to fill up your figurative “toolbox”.

I mainly got this book for the writing tips included; but found the story of his life, which preceeds the on writing section, to be very facisnating and drew me in like a moth to a night light. The book is required reading for those who wish to be a writer in the future; grow upon their current skill-set; or even just to read the fascinating life of Stephen King, it’s well worth it.

There are many tips included in the book, too many to possibly recount; and I shan’t try and summarise it for removing the important justification and debate as to why he believes in one set of English rules and styles of writing. But one important one I shall share is: remove adverbs. If you don’t know what an adverb is, you’re in the wrong business.

This was also the first book I had picked up in ages. Frankly, I just didn’t have time to sit down and read a book, let alone relax. I heard from a friend that it was a very good book, and decided to investigate further. I’m glad I did.

I think so highly of this book that I have also since referred it onto a friend and he has himself got a copy now. Since he plans to do a creative writing course, it makes sense that he would have this book.

Must read.

Written by Gabriel Pollard

17 September, 2008 at 10.21 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree, people should buy this book!

    Josh

    17 September, 2008 at 11.07 pm


Leave a Reply

