Bird’s Eye News

Up here, we see everything – Gabriel Pollard

Work experience

with one comment

As a budding journalist, I’ve been proactive in trying to advance this prospective career of mine. I’ve contacted many news agencies here in Christchurch to try and get some work experience, or even just have a look at how a newspaper is run. I’ve just completed a day of work experience at The Star, published by APN News and Media. APN are also publishers of various other newspapers in Christchurch and across New Zealand too.

I would assume most people would not be trying to get work experience at the mere age of 17. But not me. I pursue what I see as my dream job.

The Star, a community newspaper published around two times a week in Christchurch, told me to get back in touch during the next school holidays because they would be disrupted during the Christmas-holidays when I first contacted them at the end of last year.

So, I did what they said and talked to them two weeks ago for possible work experience. The day agreed upon was today.

And boy was today filled with good things. First of all it involved me doing what I love to do and that is writing. I got to write three articles.

Writing the articles involved practicing many journalistic techniques, if you’d call them that. I was given a notebook, a highlighter, and a telephone to conduct interviews. When I conducted an interview by phone, they allowed me to identify myself as a reporter from The Star. Nice.

I am unsure at this stage whether or not the first two articles will be published. It seemed as though they might be, but I wouldn’t like to hazard a guess. But the third article I wrote, I have been told, is getting published.

The article, about a new bus priority lane being constructed in Christchurch city, is set to be published in one of their local suburb newspapers. Which I, unfortunately, do not receive due to my location. Rest-assured, however, they have told me that they will send me a copy of the newspaper when it is published. Yay!

Can’t wait for the article to be published and for me to hang it on the wall. Yes, I am that vain.

The Star. They seem to know what a prospective journalist needs, and that’s work experience.

Written by Gabriel Pollard

21 April, 2008 at 9.59 pm

Posted in Journalism

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That sounds like you had an awesome day.

    Its good that you now have some work experience under your belt and it looks like it will steer you in the right direction and good on you for getting out there and doing what you love to do which is write.

    Good luck Gabriel

    Clay

    21 April, 2008 at 11.19 pm


Leave a Reply

